CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a special meeting of the **Council** Held on Monday, 20th October, 2008 at Town Hall Congleton

PRESENT

Councillor Mrs M Simon (Chairman) Councillor G Baxendale (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors Miss C Andrew, A Arnold, M Asquith, Mrs R Bailey, Mrs R Bailey, T Beard, D Bebbington, A Barratt. G Barton, C Beard, D Beckford, Mrs S Bentley, D Brickhill, S Broadhurst, D Brown, D Cannon, R Cartlidge, J Crockatt. H Davenport. M Davies. R Domleo. B Dvkes. P Edwards. P Findlow. W Fitzgerald, R Fletcher. Mrs D Flude, Miss S Furlong, Mrs H Gaddum, L Gilbert, Mrs E Gilliland, J Goddard, J Hammond, M Hardy, D Hough, Ms O Hunter, Mrs T Jackson, J Jones, Mrs S Jones, F Keegan, A Knowles, A Kolker, W Livesley, J Macrae. Mrs M Martin, P Mason, S McGrory, R Menlove, Mrs G Merry, A Moran, B Moran, H Murray, J Narraway, D Neilson, R Parker, M Parsons, A Ranfield, A Richardson, B Silvester, Mrs L Smetham, D Stockton, Mrs D Thompson, C Thorley, A Thwaite, Mrs C Tomlinson, D Topping, R Walker, G M Walton, Mrs J Weatherill, R West, R Westwood, P Whiteley and J Wray

Apologies

Councillors Mrs E Alcock, S Conquest, Mrs M Hollins, Mrs B Howell and A Martin

35 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

36 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

A number of Councillors who were existing County Councillors, Borough Councillors and Town and Parish Councillors declared a personal interest in the business of the meeting en bloc.

37 PETITION FOR BOROUGH STATUS

Consideration was given to a report updating the Council on the proposed application for Borough status, as agreed in principle by Council on 30 July 2008.

It was moved and seconded to approve :-

- (a) the formal presentation of a Petition seeking the grant of a Charter for Borough status
- (b) the form of the Council's Petition for Borough status and of the

proposed Charter for submission to the Privy Council Office.

A requisition for a named vote was submitted and duly supported, in accordance with the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 15.2 of the Constitution.

Abstentions

0

The motion was put to the meeting with the following results:-

Against

FUI	Ayamsı
Cllr C Andrew Cllr M Asquith Cllr RA Bailey Cllr R Bailey Cllr A Barratt Cllr G Barton Cllr G Baxendale Cllr C Beard Cllr D Bebbington Cllr D Bebbington Cllr D Brown Cllr D Brown Cllr D Brown Cllr J Crockatt Cllr H Davenport Cllr M Davies Cllr R Domleo Cllr B Dykes Cllr P Findlow Cllr W Fitzgerald Cllr S Furlong Cllr H Gaddum Cllr L Gilbert Cllr E Gilliland Cllr J Hammond Cllr J Hammond Cllr J Hammond Cllr J Keegan Cllr F Keegan Cllr A Knowles Cllr A Kolker Cllr A Knowles Cllr A Kolker Cllr B Moran Cllr B Moran Cllr B Moran Cllr H Murray Cllr B Moran Cllr H Murray Cllr C Ranfield Cllr A Richardson Cllr A Richardson Cllr A Richardson Cllr A Silvester Cllr A Silvester Cllr B Silvester	A Arnold T Beard S Broadhurst D Cannon R Cartlidge P Edwards R Fletcher D Flude J Goddard D Hough S Jones M Martin S McGory A Moran J Narraway D Neilson M Parsons C Thorley C Tomlinson
Cllr M Simon Cllr L Smetham Cllr D Stockton	
Cllr J Hammond Cllr M Hardy Cllr O Hunter Cllr T Jackson Cllr J Jones Cllr F Keegan Cllr A Knowles Cllr A Kolker Cllr W Livesley Cllr J Macrae Cllr P Mason Cllr P Mason Cllr R Menlove Cllr G Merry Cllr B Moran Cllr B Moran Cllr H Murray Cllr B Parker Cllr T Ranfield Cllr A Richardson Cllr B Silvester Cllr B Silvester Cllr M Simon Cllr L Smetham	

For

Cllr D Thompson Cllr A Thwaite Cllr D Topping Cllr R Walker Cllr G Walton Cllr J Weatherill Cllr R West Cllr R West Cllr R Westwood Cllr P Whiteley Cllr S Wilkinson Cllr J Wray

The motion was declared carried by 57 votes for and 19 against, in accordance with the provision of the Local Government Act 1972, which requires that "a Petition for a Charter shall not be presented, except on a resolution passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting thereon".

The meeting commenced at 6.00 pm and concluded at 6.34 pm

Councillor Mrs M Simon (Chairman) CHAIRMAN